This is a past event.

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Jean-Guihen Queyras / Rosas

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Jean-Guihen Queyras / Rosas

Mitten wir im Leben sind/ Bach6Cellosuites

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Jean-Guihen Queyras / Rosas

Mitten wir im Leben sind/ Bach6Cellosuites

Johann Sebastian Bach’s Cello Suites are considered a milestone in the history of Western music. The intellectual and architectural elements continue to evoke contemporary appeal, with their rhythmic vitality and melodic intricacy. Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker’s affinity with Bach was already apparent in several previous creations, and she continues to pursue a choreographic écriture that captures the essence of Bach’s musical language. In this production, Bach’s score, performed in its totality by the world-renowned cellist Jean-Guihen Queyras, is faceted, challenged, and performed through a choreography for three male and two female dancers, De Keersmaeker herself one of them. Both the individual character of the six suites and their mutual interconnections emerge from this riveting symbiosis of music and dance.

Between January and March, the Rosas dance company presents two choreographies by Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker with music by Johann Sebastian Bach, at the Gulbenkian Foundation and at Culturgest. In both cases, the music is performed live by first-tier musicians: cellist Jean-Guihen Queyras performs the Six Cello Suites in the first piece, while pianist Pavel Kolesnikov plays the Goldberg Variations in the second. A unique opportunity to hear and, in a way, “see” some of the most beautiful music ever written.

© Anne Van Aerschot.

09 JAN 2022
SUN 18:00

10 JAN 2022
MON 20:00

Buy Tickets
Fundação Calouste Gulbenkian, Grande Auditório
20€ – 30€
Duration 90 min

In accordance with the Resolution no. 28/2020 of the Portuguese Health Authority (updated on 1 December 2021), either a valid Digital Vaccination Certificate or a negative test are mandatory to attend cultural events. Auto-tests are not accepted. Please read the access conditions for more information.


Fundação Gulbenkian


Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker


Jean-Guihen Queyras

Criação e interpretação

Boštjan Antončič, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Marie Goudot, Julien Monty, Michaël Pomero


Johann Sebastian Bach 6 Cello Suites, BWV 1007 to 1012


An D’Huys

Vestido Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker

Anke Loh


Jan Vandenhouwe


Alban Moraud

Desenho de luz

Luc Schaltin




De Munt / La Monnaie (Bruxelas), Ruhrtriennale, Concertgebouw Brugge, Philharmonie de Paris – Théâtre de la Ville (Paris) – Festival d’Automne à Paris, Sadler’s Wells (Londres), Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg, Opéra de Lille, Ludwigsburger Schlossfestspiele, Elbphilharmonie (Hamburgo), Montpellier Danse 2018
Realizado com o apoio do Belgian Tax Shelter, em colaboração com Casa Kafka Pictures Tax Shelter empowered by Belfius.

Share Facebook / Twitter