Joana Gama

The Book of Sounds
© Inês d'Orey | Mosteiro de Rendufe / DRCN.

Written between 1979 and 1982, The Book of Sounds (Das Buch der Klänge) is the masterpiece of Hans Otte (1926-2007) and represents a moment of rare brilliance amid the artistic creations of the twentieth century. Almost four decades since its première, this composition for solo piano still remains hidden from the general public, like a treasure that needs to be shared and passed from hand to hand in a stream of appreciation. Its discovery astounds and captures new audiences, opening the doors to an enjoyment that also reveals to us many of our own conquests. The Book of Sounds is, therefore a lesson as large as life: in its repetition, it invites us to engage in introspection; in its minimalism, it shows us the simplicity of artistic forms; in its sound, it explains the minutiae of details, in the richness of its harmonies, it accompanies us on a stroll through Nature. At a time when the world is placing before us all kinds of obstacles and uncertainties, this work inevitably echoes much louder, touching us in a unique and emotive way, demonstrating how its qualities expand and show themselves at the precise moment when we need them.

This magnificent work marks the beginning of an ambitious programme dedicated to Hans Otte, which will continue over time. Culturgest has associated itself with this starting moment so that, in the near future, other pieces of music, other artistic objects and conversations will place this German composer’s name and ideas on the pages of our diaries.

09 OCT 2020
FRI 21:00

Buy Tickets
Main Auditorium
14€ (discounts)

With the support



Joana Gama



Share Facebook / Twitter